Nota Bene

So, this Latin phrase means note well or note carefully.  Sometimes you see it abbreviated n.b. Well, I didn’t when I went to vote.  We have two initiatives on the ballot in Washington State regarding hard liquor.  The ballot summary for I-1105 Reads thusly:

Initiative Measure No. 1105 concerns liquor (beer, wine and spirits).

This measure would close all state liquor stores and license private parties to sell or distribute spirits. It would revise laws concerning regulation, taxation and government revenues from distribution and sale of spirits.

Should this measure be enacted into law?
[  ]  Yes
[  ]  No

The other, I-1100, reads:

Initiative Measure No. 1100 concerns liquor (beer, wine and spirits).

This measure would close state liquor stores; authorize sale, distribution, and importation of spirits by private parties; and repeal certain requirements that govern the business operations of beer and wine distributers and producers.

Should this measure be enacted into law?
[  ]  Yes
[  ]  No

So I voted for both of them, because the last thing we need is a bootlegging legislature, and ending monopolies is a good thing.  Well, you’d think the fact that there were two similar ballot measures would clue me in, but no.  Apparently one of them, 1105, raises taxes and establishes more regulation.  I looked at the text of each of them afterward; (I know, I know. Horse out of barn) I can’t make heads or tails of the 16 pages that make up 1105.  1100 is pretty straight forward.  9 pages, close state liquor stores.  Matt Shea recommends voting for 1100, and against 1105, but I didn’t read all this until after I’d voted. (Yes, Horse and barn. But at least I am trying to learn from my mistakes.  Vote late and read the text of ballot measures.)  The terrible thing is I should know better.  Heck, these things are written by people who are lawyers,  and the ballot summery mentions revising laws that govern REVENUE.  That sacred word that denotes the gathering of moneys all kinds of ways from all kinds of places.  Anyways, I just thought I’d warn you. When you go to vote read the ballot summaries carefully; or, in other words, Nota Bene.

This entry was posted in elections, Voting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

