Philippians Verse 1

OK, let’s see if I can type this properly without looking.
Phil. 1:1 Paul and Timothy, servants of Christ Jesus, to the saints in Christ Jesus who are at Philippi, and the overseers and deacons:

Nope, it is as follows: Paul and Timothy , servants of Christ Jesus, to all the saints in Christ Jesus at Philippi, with the overseers and deacons:

What I did (if anyone cares to know) is read the verse over out loud five times, then try to write it from memory. These are my results:
Try #1: Philipians 1:1 Paul and…. Some other guy in Christ….. to those in Christ at philipians….and some other people greetings.

I really should try and write my own “Message” version.
After reading it outloud another two or three times, I came up with this:
Try #2: Paul and Timothy who are in Christ Jesus, to all who are in Christ Jesus at philippi and overseers and decons, greetings.

Timothy is the other guy.  This is for your benefit if you did not catch that the first time.   “To all who are in Christ Jesus at philippi?” Where did those saints go?  And what are DE-cons?

Try#3: Philipians 1:1 (got the verse number in again! Lost the extra “p” though. Ah well. as there were three of them I expect one could be spared.) Paul and Timothy, servants of Christ Jesus, to all who are in Christ Jesus at Philipi (lost the “p” again) and the overseeres and decons, greetings.

I gave in to my urge to add an extra “e” in overseers.  And to defend my spelling of deacons, that “a” is superfluous.  The “e” is already long.  This is much the same as the previous; must go back and read the original.

Try #4: Philipians 1:1 (I am going to start correcting this spelling. I misspell it all the way through, and if I don’t correct it, it will now become my default way of spelling Philippians.) Paul and Timothy servants of Christ Jesus, to all the saints who are in Christ Jesus at Philipi, with the overseeres and deacons, greetings.

Finally, I discover Paul is NOT sending greetings in this verse. How rude.  Also, in my version, Paul is sending greetings to “all the saints who are in Christ Jesus.”  Well, there aren’t any saints who aren’t in Christ Jesus.   How odd!  Oh. That’s just me.  I would make a pitiable copyist.

Try #5:Philippians 1:1 Paul and Timothy, servants of Christ Jesus, to all the saints who are in Christ Jesus at Philippi, with the overseers and deacons.

Need to read the original more carefully.  I have gained a comma, but it is still written to ” the saint who are in Christ Jesus”. I worry about the ones who aren’t in him.

Try #6: (lost the verse number. I remember what it is though.  Philippians 1:1) Paul and Timothy, servants of Christ Jesus, to all the saints in Christ Jesus at Philipi, with the overseers and deacons:

Now it is to all the saints in Christ Jesus, but I lost my “who are at”.  It was there for something. I don’t know what.  And finally, we get the last punctuation mark correct! That’s why there is no greeting in the first verse: the greeting is in the second.  Now I hit on a brilliant plan: I should try and write the verse out from the text and then see if I can do it properly.

Philippians 1:1 Paul and Timothy, servants of Christ Jesus, to all the saints in Christ Jesus who are at Philippi, with overseers and deacons:

I can’t.

Philippians 1:1 Paul and Timothy, servants of Christ Jesus, to all the saints in Christ Jesus who are at Philippi, with the overseers and deacons:  (I so want to add “greetings”)

Try #8 Philippians1:1 Paul and Timothy, servant of Christ Jesus, to all the saints whoarein in Christ Jesus who are at Philippi, with the overseers and deacons:

Closer to the original.  I am now correcting my mistakes without looking.

Phil.  1:1 (Philippians is too long.  I’m running out of space.)  Paul and Timothy, servants of Christ Jesus, to all the saints in Christ Jesus who are at Philippi, with the overseers and deacons:

Success!  But as you read at the beginning, I lost it.  You are supposed to record your thoughts on the verse, so I shall do that as relevant thoughts strike me.  All the thoughts I have for this one have to do with my copying errors, and are not necessarily relevant.

1. All saints are in Christ Jesus by definition.

2. Paul doesn’t use the word greetings.

Question: “With the overseers and deacons:” Why special mention?  I don’t know. I shall have to mull it over in my head.

This entry was posted in Bible, Memorizing, Philippians. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

